Recommended Readings: James Rothman, Ph.D. November 7

Friday Lecture Series
Friday, November 7, 2014
3:45 p.m., Caspary Auditorium

James Rothman, Ph.D.
Fergus F. Wallace Professor Biomedical Sciences and Chemistry,
Professor and Chair,
Department of Cell Biology,
Professor of Chemistry,
Yale School of Medicine

The Regulation of Neurotransmitter Release

Recommended Readings

Empirical Articles

McNew, J. A., Parlati, F., Fukuda, R., Johnston, R. J., Paz, K., Paumet, F., … Rothman, J. E. (2000). Compartmental specificity of cellular membrane fusion encoded in SNARE proteins. Nature, 407(6801), 153–159. doi:10.1038/35025000

Söllner, T., Whiteheart, S. W., Brunner, M., Erdjument-Bromage, H., Geromanos, S., Tempst, P., & Rothman, J. E. (1993). SNAP receptors implicated in vesicle targeting and fusion. Nature, 362(6418), 318–324. doi:10.1038/362318a0

Weber, T., Zemelman, B. V, McNew, J. a, Westermann, B., Gmachl, M., Parlati, F., … Rothman, J. E. (1998). SNAREpins: Minimal Machinery for Membrane Fusion. Cell, 92(6), 759–772. doi:10.1016/S0092-8674(00)81404-X

Wilson, D. W., Wilcox, C. A., Flynn, G. C., Chen, E., Kuang, W. J., Henzel, W. J., … Rothman, J. E. (1989). A fusion protein required for vesicle-mediated transport in both mammalian cells and yeast. Nature, 339(6223), 355–359. doi:10.1038/339355a0

Review Papers

Rothman, J. E. (2014). The principle of membrane fusion in the cell (Nobel lecture). Angewandte Chemie, 2–21. doi:10.1002/anie.201402380

Südhof, T. C., & Rothman, J. E. (2009). Membrane fusion: grappling with SNARE and SM proteins. Science, 323(5913), 474–477. doi:10.1126/science.1161748

Scientific American’s Observations Blog Publishes Reuters Nobel Predictions

Check out Scientific American’s blog site announcement of September 21 for Thomson Reuter’s “short list” of contenders for this year’s Nobel prizes.  The Nobel’s are expected to be announced next month.   Both Jeffrey Friedman and Ralph Steinman are on Reuter’s list for the prize in Physiology or Medicine.    Dr. Friedman was recently announced as one of this year’s co-winners of the Lasker Award.

AIDS pioneers and HPV cancer researcher win Nobel Prize for medicine or physiology

On Monday, October 6, 2008, two French scientists who discovered the AIDS virus and a German scientist who found the virus the causes cervical cancer were awarded the Nobel prize for medicine or physiology.  A brief podcast and video describe these awards.

Luc Montagnier, director of the World Foundation for AIDS Research and Prevention, and Francoise Barre-Sinoussi of the Institut Pasteur won half of the prize for discovering the AIDS virus which has killed millions of people. 

Harald zur Hausen of the University of Duesseldorf shared the other half of the prize for work that ran counter to the current dogma related to the cause of cervical cancer. 

The French scientists identified virus production in lymphocytes from early-stage, acquired immunodeficiency patients and from blood from patients with late stages of the disease.  This virus became known as human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).  These findings led to the current understanding of the biology of the disease and antiretroviral treatment.

Harald zur Hausen was awarded the other half of the Nobel prize for work which proved that oncogenic human papilloma virus (HPV) casued cervical cancer, the second most common cancer in women.  This discovery led to understanding the basis for HPV infection and HPV-induced cancers and the subsequent development of prophylactic vaccines against HPV. 

Montagnier, upon receiving the honor, said that a treatment for AIDS could be possible in the future with a therapeutic, rather than a preventive vaccine.  A therapeutic vaccine prevents disease from fluorishing once it has taken hold.