NAS President named to Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

By William Kearney

August 11, 2010 – The U.S. Department of Energy announced yesterday that National Academy of Sciences President Ralph J. Cicerone will serve as a member of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board, representing the NAS. Also joining Cicerone are five members of the National Academy of Engineering:

Norman R. Augustine, retired chairman and CEO, Lockheed Martin Corp.; Nicholas M. Donofrio, retired executive vice president of innovation and technology, IBM Corp.; Charles O. Holliday Jr., chairman of Bank of America and former chairman and CEO of DuPont; William J. Perry, former U.S. secretary of defense and now a professor at Stanford University; and Arthur H. Rosenfeld, a guest faculty scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and former commissioner of the California Energy Commission. The 12-member board has been re-established to advise Secretary of Energy Steven Chu on basic and applied research, economic and national security policy, educational issues, operational issues, and other activities related to DOE’s mission. Chu himself is an NAS member

Rockefeller’s Cori Bargmann Being Honored by NAS

The National Academy of Sciences will honor 18 individuals in 2009 for their extraordinary scientific achievements in the areas of biology, chemistry, geology, astronomy, social sciences, psychology, and application of science for the public good. An awards ceremony for the recipients will take place on April 26 during the NAS annual meeting in Washington, D.C.    Read the press release about all 18 honorees.